Paper Award


The Thomas C. Evans Engineering Education Paper Award is given to the author or authors of the most outstanding paper pertaining to engineering education


The award includes a $1,000 cash price and an award certificate presented at the Awards Ceremony at the ASEE Southeastern Section Annual Conference.


The author(s) must be members of the ASEE Southeastern Section.


A colleague, department head, or student may nominate a paper for this award.


The winning paper will be chosen from one of the following categories:

  1. Unpublished papers
  2. Papers published in refereed journals during the previous calendar year
  3. Papers published in refereed conference proceedings during the previous calendar year

The successful candidate must attend the annual ASEE Southeastern Section Annual Conference at which the cash prize and certificate are presented. The successful candidate will also present their paper during the Monday Lunch at the ASEE Southeastern Section Annual Conference.


Nominations will be accepted through January 31, 2022 February, 7th, 2022 (Deadline Extended).


The nomination, along with a copy of the paper, should be submitted electronically in .pdf format to the Section’s Vice President for Awards and Recognition:

Simon Ghanat
Associate Professor
School of Engineering
The Citadel
Phone: (843) 953-7692

Award Winners

1998 — David C. Banks, Mississippi State University
1999 — Douglas Hirt, Clemson University
2000 — Raj Rajagopalan, University of Florida
2001 — Pedro E. Arce, Florida A&M-Florida State
2002 — Anna P. Phillips, University of Memphis and Scott A. Yost, University of Kentucky
2003 — Laura W. Lackey, Mercer University and W. Jack Lackey, Georgia Institute of Technology
2004 — Julie E. Sharp, Vanderbilt University
2005 — Kurt Gramoll, University of Oklahoma, Wes Hines, University of Tennessee and Mary Kocak, Pellissippi State Technical Community College
2006 — Joseph J. Biernacki, Tennessee Technological University
2007 — Adrienne R. Minerick, Ebonye-Rosa T. Allen, and Bill B. Elmore
Mississippi State University
2008 — Pedro E. Arce, Tennessee Technological University, Mario Oyanader, and Stephen Whittaker
2009 — Rebecca K. Toghiani, Adrienne R. Minerick, and Keisha Walters,
Mississippi State University
2010 — Julie Trenor, Clemson University
2011 — Melissa Dagley-Falls, Michael Georgiopoulos, and Cynthia Young,
University of Central Florida
2012 — Mary Katherine Watson, Caroline Noyes, and Michael Rodgers, Georgia Institute of Technology
2013 — Tanya Kunberger, Florida Gulf Coast University
2014 — Pedro E. Arce, J. Biernacki, J. Pascal and J. R. Sanders,
Tennessee Technological University
2016 — Anna Howard, North Carolina State University
2017 — Mary Katherine Watson, The Citadel
2018 — Courtney Faber and Lisa Benson, University of Tennessee Knoxville
2019 — Rachel McCord, University of Tennessee Knoxville
2020 — Simon Thomas Ghanat, The Citadel
2021 — Robby Sanders, Tennessee Tech University