Conference Overview

 Announcing the 11th Annual First Year Engineering Experience (FYEE) Conference

Enhancing the First Year of Engineering Education
Penn State, State College, Pennsylvania
July 28-30, 2019

Conference Location

The Penn Stater Hotel and Conference Center
215 Innovation Boulevard
State College, PA 16803

The 11th Annual First Year Engineering Experience Conference will be hosted by Penn State, State College, Pennsylvania.

FYEE is an opportunity for academic and industry representatives to discuss and share relevant topics in the first year engineering experience. Participants include college deans, department chairs, student service professionals, advisors, faculty in engineering and engineering technology, K-12 teachers, and industry leaders from throughout the country.


The 11th First-Year Engineering Experience Conference, hosted by Penn State, will continue the dialog started at the University of Notre Dame in 2005, 2007, and 2009, University of Pittsburgh in 2012 and 2013, Texas A&M in 2014, Virginia Tech in 2015, The Ohio State University in 2016, Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University in 2017, and Rowan University in 2018.

Conference Structure

The goal of the First-Year Engineering Experience conference is to facilitate learning and sharing among attendees. The conference will take place in State College, Pennsylvania on the campus of Penn State. Conference sessions will include a variety of opportunities to share and learn. The conference schedule will consist of workshops, panel discussions, paper presentations, poster presentations, and keynote addresses.

The conference officially starts Sunday evening with an optional reception and registration on campus. Monday and Tuesday will be two days of workshops, panels, presentations, and keynotes. Monday evening will include dinner.

Conference Chairs

General Chair: Thomas A. Litzinger – Penn State
Program Chair: Sean Brophy – Purdue University
Program Chair-Elect: Krista Kecskemety – The Ohio State University
Sponsorship Chair: Tim Hinds – Michigan State University
Publications Chair: Kevin Calabro –  University of Maryland

FYEE Steering Committee

Chair: Mara Knott – Virginia Tech
P.K. Imbrie – University of Cincinnati
Krista Kecskemety – The Ohio State University
Rich Whalen – Northeastern University
Blake Hylton – Ohio Northern University
Kristi Shryock – Texas A&M University

FYEE Web Site Management

Jack Bringardner – New York University
ASEE Conferences

We have selected the hosts for 2020 and 2021:

2020 – Michigan State University, East Lansing, MI
2021 – University of Maryland, College Park, MD

Want to host FYEE in 2022 or 2023?

Thank you for applications to host FYEE 2020 and 2021. A request for proposals for hosting FYEE in 2022 and 2023 is now available. Review the FYEE Host Proposal Guidelines and prepare a FYEE Host Proposal Form. Submit your proposal through the link below by May 30, 2019:

Conference Sponsors

Diamond Level

Gold Level

Workshop Sponsors




Society Sponsors

Become a Sponsor!