What is the Faculty Development Division?

Faculty development—the continuing education of educators—plays a key role in fostering strong communities of engineering educators and translating engineering education research into practice. The purpose of the Faculty Development Division is to advance the practice and scholarship of faculty development, and to advance the various professions who formally or informally support engineering educators’ growth.

Our Goals

Further discussion in the faculty development community
Develop plans toward addressing the community’s emergent interests
Share knowledge about faculty development programs and our professions as faculty developers
Generate ideas for collaborations in meeting community challenges, interests, and goals
Lay a foundation for increased engagement and advancement as a community of practice and scholarship
Aid in the research-to-practice cycle through faculty development

The Faculty Development Division is part of PIC IV. For our current bylaws (2017 August), see here.