2018 Elections – ARCHIVE

Dear WIED Member:

This page gives the information about the excellent slate of candidates for our 2018 elections. Below is the list of 2018 candidates and their statements, though write-ins are also welcome.

A summary of the duties for the open WIED Board positions for 2018 is as follows:

  • Program Chair Elect:  Succeeds the Program Chair. The program chair serves as the chair of the program committee, and in the absence of the Chair, s/he presides at meetings of the Division.
  • Secretary: Keeps the minutes of Division meetings.
  • Director-at-Large: Those elected to this position are assigned duties by the Division Chair, usually work on standing or ad hoc committees of the WIED. This position has a 2-year term.
  • Assistant Webmaster: becomes Webmaster after one year as Assistant Webmaster. The Assistant Webmaster assists the Webmaster in maintaining the division’s web site, http://wied.asee.org. This includes (but is not limited to) being Editor-in-Chief of the Division’s newsletter, and posting jobs, research positions, news, and honor roll items. The assistant webmaster works with the webmaster to create regular reports on website utilization which are presented to the Board. Experience with web development is required.

Candidates for the 2018 Election:

Program Chair Elect:

  • Candidate 1:  Dr. Kristi Shryock is the Associate Department Head of Aerospace Engineering and an Associate Professor of Instruction. She previously was the Sr. Director of Retention for the Texas A&M College of Engineering. Dr. Shryock has led academic initiatives including the only NSF Revolutionizing Engineering Departments grant awarded to an aerospace engineering department, and conducts research on engineering identity and its relationship to retention. She developed an engineering fundamental course for at-risk entering engineering, and has received several awards in education including the TAMU CoE Instructional Faculty Teaching Award, FIE Dasher Best Paper Award, and the ASEE Gulf-Southwest Best Paper Award.
  • Candidate 2: Write-in candidate


    • Candidate 1:  Dr. Malini Natarajarathinam is an Associate professor of Engineering Technology and Industrial Distribution at Texas A&M University. She is the current secretary for WIED and has served the division in this capacity for two years. She is also the founding faculty for Society of Women in Industrial Distribution (ID). Her teaching activities surround classes in purchasing, logistics and strategic relationships. She teaches courses in strategic relationships among industrial distributors and distribution logistics. Her recent research focuses on education and learning sciences with an emphasis on Engineering and STEM fields. Her other research interests include empirical studies to assess impact of good supply chain practices such as coordinated decision making in stochastic supply chains, handling supply chains during times of crisis and optimizing global supply chains on the financial health of a company.  She has a Master’s degree in Industrial Engineering from Auburn University and a Ph.D. in Operations Management from The University of Alabama.
    • Candidate 2: Dr. Pitiporn Asvapathanagul is an Assistant Professor in the Civil Engineering and Construction Engineering Management Department at California State University, Long Beach (CSULB). My area of expertise is Environmental Engineering. Since 2012, I have served in several department, college and university committees, such as the Curriculum, College Award and Scholarship, and Grade Appeal committees. Currently, I am an active member of the University International Education Committee and the Committee on Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, Intersex, Queer (LGBTIQ). In 2017-2018, I was awarded the Exceptional Levels of Services to Students. At CSULB, I am a Training Director for BUilding Infrastructure Leading to Diversity (BUILD) grant. I have been an ASEE member since 2014. I am also a member of ASEE Educational Research and Methods, Environmental Engineering, Graduate Studies, and Women in Engineering Division. In 2014, I was involved in a committee hosting the ASEE PSW in Long Beach, CA. In 2016-2017, I volunteered reviewed several ASEE manuscripts. Profile: http://web.csulb.edu/colleges/coe/cecem/faculty/asvapathanagul.shtml
    • Candidate 3: Write-in candidate


  • Candidate 1: Dr. Panadda (Nim) Marayong is an Associate Professor in the Department of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering at California State University, Long Beach. I received my M.S. and a Ph.D. in Mechanical Engineering from Johns Hopkins University with a primary research interest in robotics. In addition to research, I am also actively involved in numerous educational outreach programs to promote STEM careers to under-represented minority and women students and have been the faculty advisor for the CSULB Society of Women Engineers (SWE) student chapter since 2008. Since 2012, I have been involved with the ASEE Pacific Southwest Section Executive Board in various roles, including serving as the Section Chair in 2016-2017 and the Co-Chair of the 2014 ASEE Zone IV Conference in Long Beach. With my experience with PSW and commitment to promote all aspects of diversity in engineering education, I believe that I can further contribute to the mission of ASEE WIED. Profile: http://web.csulb.edu/colleges/coe/mae/faculty/marayong.shtml
  • Candidate 2: Write-in candidate

Assistant Webmaster: 

  • Candidate 1:  Dr. Bethany Brinkman – While completing her Ph.D. at the University of Minnesota, Professor Brinkman researched temporal and spatial variations in natural organic matter and how these variations impact water treatment. She also spent some time as a consulting engineer working on the implementation of ultrafiltration membranes for water utilities. Her current research interests include feed-forward control systems, pilot scale treatment, engineered wetlands, organic matter dynamics and historic brick structures. Dr. Brinkman enjoys teaching Introduction to Engineering and environmental engineering electives. She currently serves as the webmaster for the Virginia Section of the American Nuclear Society.
  • Candidate 2: Write-in candidate

Instructions on how to vote:

You may cast your ballot here.

Voting will close on May 20th, 2018. WIED members will need to enter their new ASEE member number. If you don’t know your number, log into ASEE using your email and password and you will find your Member ID on the landing page. Click here for where to locate on page.

Thank you for your support of the WIED!