Call to Order – Jessica Matson

Jessica Matson called the meeting to order by welcoming everyone to the IED business meeting. Jessica handed out the meeting agenda and provided an overview of key topics.

Introductions - All

Jessica asked the meeting attendants to introduce themselves giving their name and organizational affiliation. Attendees were the following:

David Elizandro	Tennessee Tech. University
Jessica Matson	Tennessee Tech. University
Chuck Edmonson	University of Dayton
Siggi Olafsson	Iowa State University
Judith Norback	Georgia Tech
Kim LaScola Needy	University of Pittsburgh
Sima Parisay	California Poly – Pomona
John Ballard	University of Nebraska
Ed Wheeler	University of Tennessee – Martin
Scott Grasman	University of Missouri – Rolla
Don Merino	Stevens Tech
Bill Peterson	Old Dominion University
Terry Collins	Texas Tech University
Andrew Jackson	Texas A&M – Commerce
Bob Dryden	Portland State University
Jose Deliz	University of Turabo
Pat Patterson	Iowa State University
Paul Kauffman	East Carolina University
Paul Givens	University of South Florida
Terri Lynch-Caris	Kettering University
Jane Fraser	Colorado State University – Pueblo
AlejandroTeran	Instituto Tecnologico Autonomo de Mexico

Approval of 2004 Minutes – Terry Collins

Terry Collins presented Minutes of the 2004 Division Meeting. A motion to approve the Minutes was made by John Ballard and seconded by Judith Norback. The motion was approved.

Division Chair Report

Jessica made general comments on status of the Division. She indicated that the Division has 287 members and 67 of those members attended this ASEE conference this year. Jessica also discussed the problem of tickets available for the luncheon. Of the 30-40 tickets that were requested from ASEE, only 20 were allotted to the IE Division for purchase.

Program Chair Report

Terry Collins also presented the Program Chair Report. Terry indicated that the IE Division has 30 abstracts submitted; of those, 28 were accepted and 20 papers were

presented. Terry indicated that, for planning purposes, each division will have 1 less session in the 2006 conference than the number offered at the conference this year. However, according to comments by Terry, PIC I Chair J P Mohsen, indicated that because of the degree of collaboration between the Engineering Economy, Engineering Management, and Industrial Engineering Divisions, these divisions could expect to have a combined total of 12 sessions for next year, the same as this year.

Newsletter Report – Siggi Olafsson

Siggi indicated that although there were logistical problems the newsletter should be distributed within the week following this conference (week of June 20).

Budget Report – David Elizandro

David presented the current balance of \$13,375 in the Bass Account based on Net Income of \$995. The Operating Budget has \$380. There have been no expenditures from either of these accounts this fiscal year. After some general discussion on the current account balances, Kim Needy made a motion to again subsidize the business luncheon in the amount of \$15 per person; the motion was seconded by Terry and approved by a show of hands vote.

Journal of IE Design

There was a discussion on the status of the Journal of IE Design published by the IE Department at Bradley University. For several years the Division has authorized \$250 each year for cost of publishing the journal. A motion by Judith Norback and seconded by ?? was approved to again fund the journal, contingent upon continuation of the journal.

IE Website - Siggi Olafsson and David Elizandro

There was discussion on ASEE support for a Division home page; ASEE will support only basic Division information. Siggi agreed to develop and maintain a division web page at Iowa State.

Awards Announcement – Jessica Matson

The Best Paper Award for 2004 went to Brian Norman, Mary Besterfield-Sacre, Bopaya Bidanda, Kim Needy, and Jayant Rajgopal for their paper "A Conceptual Model for Integrating and Synthesizing the Industrial Engineering Curriculum." There was no winner for the New Industrial Engineering Educator Outstanding Paper Award.

New Business

After discussion on awards and the process for selecting award winners, Jessica appointed a subcommittee consisting of Kim Needy, John Ballard, Paul Givens, and Jessica to review the current procedures and make recommendations at next years meeting on any changes to the process. The charge to the committee included the awards criteria, any additional awards, and names for awards. After discussion on responsibilities of the program chair and length of tenure in various officers positions, Jessica asked that current officers review and make recommendations any changes that may be needed on officer rotation for the Division.

In the election for Secretary-Treasurer, Terri Lynch-Caris was nominated by Jane Fraser and seconded by Terry Collins. Without other nominations, Terri was elected to the office by acclamation.

Installation of New Officers

The following offices were installed for 2005/06.

Secretary/Treasurer	Terri Lynch-Caris
Newsletter Editor	David Elizandro
Program Chair	Siggi Olafsson
Division Chair	Terry Collins
Past Chair	Jessica Matson

As the incoming division chair, Terry Collins expressed support for work of the committees appointed by Jessica, appreciation for Jessica's efforts as Division Chair, and commitment to assist Siggi as the incoming program chair.

Without additional business, Terry adjourned the meeting.