ASEE BED Minutes, 2015

BED Business Meeting, Tuesday, June 16, 2015 Washington State Convention Center, Room 209

1. PIC II Chair Marjan Eggermont presented information from ASEE.

She suggested a diversity statement and a provision for online voting to the BED bylaws.

The call for the special projects funding will come out in October.

She suggested attending the "Strategic Doing" session today at 12:30 PM.

The proposed 60% overhead on the BASS accounts is no longer on the table. Instead, ASEE will apply a 30% administrative fee to new incoming funds.

Membership and conference fees will remain at current levels.

PreK-12 will be the next major ASEE initiative.

Alisa Graham is available in the Exhibit Hall for assistance with BASS accounts.

- 2. Joe Tranquillo, BED Chair, called the meeting to order. Thirty five members were in attendance. Introductions of attendees and current officers were made.
- 3. Minutes from June 2014 were distributed. The minutes were approved without corrections.
- 4. Treasurer's report: Judy Cezeaux presented the treasurer's report. She discussed the revenue and expenses for the past fiscal year (FY14) as well as in progress information on revenue and expenses for FY15. The treasurer's report was approved.
- Vice Chair, Honors and Awards report: Rachael Schmedlen announced this year's award winners. This 5. year's Pilkington Award winner is Barbara Oakley from Oakland University. Mary Staehle from Rowan University is the Teaching Award winner. The Best Paper Award winners are Jean-Michel Maarek and Brittany Kay from the University of Southern California for their paper entitled "Using Technology and Research-based Instructional Practices in BME." The Biomedical Engineering Travel Awards went to Charles Peak from Texas A&M University and Sarah Rooney from the University of Pennsylvania. Rachael noted that the number of nominees for the Pilkington and Teaching Awards were on par with previous years, but that there were fewer travel award applications this year. She also mentioned that we would like to see more nominees from more universities in the future. She thanked the awards committee members: Rena Bizios, University of Texas – San Antonio; Kristine Csavina, Arizona State University; Dan Cavanagh, Bucknell University; Art Johnson, University of Maryland; Paul King, Vanderbilt University; Kristyn Masters, University of Wisconsin; Michael Rust, Western New England University; Willis Tompkins, University of Wisconsin; Johannes van Oostrom, University of Florida; and Mary Verstraete, University of Akron. Rachael encouraged all to attend the BED poster session at 12:30 today. The Best Poster Award will be announced at the last BED session of the conference.
- 6. BED Chair report: Joe Tranquillo gave an update on BED. The dues were increased from \$3 to \$5. The bylaws were again updated (and will be voted on later at this meeting). BED has 547 members, making up 4.5% of ASEE membership.

- 7. Program Chair report: Ann Saterbak gave information on the BED programs at this year's conference. There were 39 abstract submissions which yielded 28 presentations (17 platform, 11 posters). There were 5 papers rejected and 6 papers withdrawn. There is a robust poster session this year. Ann thanks Kristy Csavina and Rachael Schmedlen for their assistance in organizing the poster session. This year, BED has 4 platform sessions (had been assigned 5) as well as a panel discussion on "Are We Diluting BME Capstone Design?" with Joe Tranquillo from Bucknell University, Jay Goldberg from Marquette University, and Phil Weilerstein from VentureWell serving as the panelists. The BED also had its annual business meeting and Awards Dinner. There was a question as to how many posters from the previous conference had been converted to full papers. There were a couple. It was noted that the posters are still "publish to present" with a Work in Progress paper that is approximately 3 pages in length. Ann compared the BED submission data between the 2014 conference in Indianapolis and this year's conference as well as presented historical data on the number of BED papers at each of the last 5 conferences (beginning in 2011 in Vancouver). This year's BED sessions had the highest number of papers in this 5 year span.
- 8. Topics for 2015 meeting in Seattle: Will Guilford, Program Chair for 2016 conference in New Orleans (June 26-29) opened discussion of suggested topics for technical sessions, workshops, panel discussions, and poster sessions. He noted that the pre-defined topics in the Call for Papers do not bias what papers are received. There was a discussion on how to drive the paper supply. For example, the first year division which has a similar number of members as the BED had 152 submissions with 95 platform presentations. Will compiled topics from the Call for Papers for the last several years and distilled to 5 prospective topics: student research and design, laboratories and projects, courses and curricula, experiential and global learning, and pedagogy and assessment. He also proposed that submissions on active learning and online learning be encouraged. Topics suggested by BED members included BME topics in non-BME courses, textbooks, and entrepreneurship (although it was thought that the last topic may me too specific). There was a question as to whether the BED is working on online learning and the consensus was "not really." There was also a discussion of a Sunday workshop noting that the BED needs to break even financially and that any Sunday workshop should involve more than one division. Will will investigate expenses for a workshop with Patti Greenawalt. Will mentioned the continuing initiative of converting posters to papers as well as suggested new initiatives: getting the BED newsletter in the hands of BME chairs for distribution to their faculty as well as to partner with ERM or First-Year divisions on sessions.
- 9. New business: A vote is required on the change to the bylaws to put them into a format requested by headquarters. Michelle Grimm moved to accept the proposed bylaws changes. Hans van Oostrom seconded the motion. The motion passed with the required affirmative vote of two-thirds of the members present.
- 10. Elections: J. Aura Gimm, Past Chair and Chair of the Nominating Committee went over the elected positions within the Division. Continuing officers following this meeting include Joe Tranquillo as Past Chair and Chair of the Nominating Committee, Ann Saterbak will serve as the Division Chair, and William Guilford will become the Program Chair. Hans van Oostrom will serve one more year as Member-at-Large while Kristy Csavina will serve two more years as Member-at-Large. Elections were held for the open officer positions. The elections results:
 - a. Program-Chair Elect: Rachael Schmedlen
 - b. Secretary-Treasurer: Judy Cezeaux
 - c. Vice Chair, Honors and Awards: Michael Rust
 - d. Member-at Large (3 year): Alyssa Taylor (2015-2018)
- 11. Upon a vote of those in attendance, the meeting was adjourned

Minutes submitted by Judy L. Cezeaux, June 2016