ASEE BED Minutes, 2014

BED Business Meeting, Tuesday, June 16, 2014 Indiana Convention Center, Indianapolis, IN

- 1. Aura Gimm, BED Chair, called the meeting to order at 12:51 PM. Twenty-seven members were in attendance. Introductions of attendees and current officers were made.
- 2. Current PIC II chair Cathy Skokan and incoming PIC II chair Marjan Eggermont presented information from ASEE.

Division bylaws need to be updated every decade. It was noted that the BED will discuss this later in this meeting.

This coming year will be the Year of Action on Diversity.

The PIC II chairs inquired about any online members the division may have. This raised the question from BED members as to how to get election ballots for online voters.

The PIC II chairs also reminded the division to supply ASEE headquarters and the new PIC II chair with the list of new officers. The division financial report is also due July 15.

The fund for special projects is available again to supply \$500 in matching funds. The division members should look for the call for proposals.

The division was encouraged to review the ASEE national awards and nominate individuals for these awards. In addition, the division should check the division awards on the website.

The next ASEE conference will be held June 14-17, 2014 in Seattle, WA. This year's conference will have 3500-3600 attendees, which is less than the attendance in Hawaii, but a good number overall.

- 3. Minutes from June 2013 were distributed. The minutes were approved with minor corrections to the number of BED members (560, not 460 as stated) and noting that the members-at-large formed the committee to review the travel awards.
- 4. Treasurer's report: Judy Cezeaux presented the treasurer's report. She discussed the revenue and expenses for the past fiscal year (FY13) and noted that ASEE accounting had not yet sent out the financial statements for FY14 Q1 and Q2 to division treasurers.
 - 5. Vice Chair, Honors and Awards report: Richard Goldberg noted that there were fewer nominations for the Pilkington and Teaching Awards and that the division needs more nominations from more universities. This year's Pilkington Award winner is Rena Bizios from the University of Texas, San Antonio. Renata Ramos from Rice University is the Teaching Award winner. The Best Paper Award winners are William Guilford and Michael Lawrence for their paper entitled "A Course in Biomaterials Taught Using the Socratic Method." The student/postdoctoral travel awards went to Lindsay Briton from the University of Virginia and Laura Chernak Slane from the University of Wisconsin-Madison. Richard also thanked the

Awards committee members Dan Cavanagh, Art Johnson, Willis Tompkins, Paul King, and Jim Sweeney.

- 6. BED Chair report: Aura Gimm gave an update on BED and ASEE membership. The BED still needs new members and more participation. She also noted the new travel award. Information is available on the ASEE website.
- 7. Program Chair report: Joe Tranquillo gave information on the BED programs at this year's conference. This year, there was a balance between full papers and Works in Progress. There was a discussion as to whether a wider distribution of the BED newsletter would yield an increase in papers. At this year's conference, the BED is working with other divisions. An example is the interdivisional town hall for which the BED is a sponsor. In addition, there is a BED guest speaker, Stacy Klein-Gardner, Chair of the K-12 Division. Submissions for the BED sessions for this year's conference included 33 abstracts submitted, 4 of which were rejected. There were 31 draft papers submitted, of which 1 paper was withdrawn and 8 papers were rejected. This resulted in 9 works in progress posters and 21 papers presented in platform sessions.
- 8. Topics for 2015 meeting in Seattle: Ann Saterbak, Program Chair for 2015 conference in Seattle (June 14 17) opened discussion of suggested topics for technical sessions, workshops, panel discussions, and poster sessions. Ann gave her email address for any additional session ideas. Suggested topics workshops included a tour of PATH, the University of Washington, and the Hutchison Cancer Center, and industrial/academic interactions. Topics for technical sessions include first year programs, regulatory, NIOSH, and a joint session with DEED. A roundtable breakfast on best practices in global health was proposed. Other topics included teaching wearable electronics, early curriculum, pre-design, translation of student projects into products, "orphan projects," and technology in the classroom. A Whitaker-like workshop was also suggested. Additional topics included partnering with ERM on a session, the use of Bloom's taxonomy in labs, and a clinical visit. Ideas were also solicited for a possible distinguished lecture.

A discussion ensued on the success to date of converting previous work-in-progress posters to full papers. It was suggested to contact poster authors to solicit manuscripts. Any additional ideas are welcome.

9. New business

A vote is required on the change to the bylaws to increase dues to help fund the new student/postdoc travel awards. William Guilford moved to increase the BED dues from \$3 to \$5. Conrad Zapanta seconded the motion. The motion passed.

ASEE is requesting that all divisions review their bylaws and put them into a format suggested by headquarters. A committee was appointed to update the BED bylaws: Conrad Zapanta (Chair), Mary Verstraete, Jim Sweeney, Kristy Csavina, and Richard Goldberg.

10. Elections: Conrad Zapanta, Past Chair and Chair of the Nominating Committee went over the elected positions within the Division. Continuing officers following this meeting include Aura Gimm as Past Chair and Chair of the Nominating Committee, Joe Tranquillo will serve as the Division Chair, and Ann Saterbak will become the Program Chair. Mike Rust will serve one

more year as Member-at-Large while Hans van Oostrom will serve two more years as Memberat-Large. Elections were held for the open officer positions. The elections results:

- a. Program-Chair Elect: William Guilford
- b. Secretary-Treasurer: Judy Cezeaux
- c. Vice Chair, Honors and Awards: Rachael Schmedlen
- d. Member-at Large (3 year): Kristy Csavina (2014-2017)
- 11. The meeting was adjourned at 1:53 PM.

Minutes submitted by Judy L. Cezeaux, June 2015