St. Lawrence Section Business Meeting Minutes March 27, 2010

Attendees:

Joan Dannenhoffer (Past Chair '10-11), Chuck Snead (sitting in for Jane LeClair, Chair '10-11), John Stratton (Conference Chair '09-10, past Zone Chair '09-11), Shane Rogers (Awards Chair '10-11), Vladimir Mitin (Vice Chair/Chair Elect '10-11), Kathryn Dimiduk (Treasurer '10-11), Stephanie Farrell (Zone Chair '10-11), David Schwartz (Past Chair 07-09), Kanti Prasad (Candidate for the Office of Chair Elect, Zone 1)

RIT Conference:

Approximately 40 attendees and 10 guests.

Friday night speaker was both entertaining and informative.

Conference paid for itself.

Money for student paper awards will be taken out of the Operating Account.

John Stratton will report back on the conference with details of what was done and any problems he encountered.

Best Paper (professional section):

Incorporating System Thinking and Sustainability within Civil and Environmental Engineering Curriculum at UVM, Nancy Hayden, Donna Rizzo, Mandar Dewoolkar, Lelita Oka, and Maureen Neumann

Best Student Paper (\$150)

Seated Balance Training Device presented by Rochelle Perry, RIT

Student Poster Awards:

First Place (tie for first place \$150 each):

Interdigitated Back Contacts for Solar Cell Process Design – Nitin Nampalli Development of a tin-oxide sputter process to produce transparent conductive oxides for use in solar cells – Nick Nowicki

Honorable mention (\$50 each):

Web-based Annotation of Cervicographic Medical Images – Chenling Ding and Roy Lui Design and Implementation of a Sidestream Collection Machine – Tim Christo, Young Jun, and Shamal Peiris

Thank you to Shane Rogers, Dave Schwartz, Linda Tompkins, Guy Johnson, and Joan Dannenhoffer for judging papers and posters.

Thank you to ... for reviewing abstracts and papers.

Notes regarding Best Paper competition. The Conference Best Paper gets submitted to the Zone Best Paper Competition in the fall (following the spring conference). The Zone Best Paper recipient from each Zone gets submitted to the National Best Paper Competition. Recipients from each Zone get a chance to update their paper and submit it to the National Conference through the normal process (SmoothPaper). The Zone Best Papers are presented and judged at the National Conference. It is important that we judge papers on both the paper quality and the presentation quality; otherwise they will not be competitive at the Zone or National level.

Future Conference Schedule:

2011 University of Buffalo (SUNY), Vladimir Mitin is Conference Chair 2012 Clarkson University

Notes for future conferences:

Executive meeting after dinner on Friday

Keep conference to late Friday afternoon through Saturday, so people can travel on the Friday afternoon and only be off campus for a half day.

Papers nominated for Best Paper should all be scheduled at the same time with no concurrent sessions so more people can see them and they can be judged more easily.

Authors should know ahead of time that they were nominated.

Review of papers needs to start earlier so we know what papers were nominated for Best Paper and schedule can be arranged accordingly. We also need time for more than one person to review the papers. We should take the timeline from this conference and back it up about 5 weeks, making the abstracts and the notification of acceptance of abstracts due before the winter break. Note that George Sutherland's passing away was a complicating factor this year, since he was heavily involved with the reviews.

Here are dates from the 2009 conference at RIT

Abstracts due: January 15, 2010

Abstract acceptance notification: January 25, 2010

• Draft papers due: February 15, 2010

Draft paper acceptance notification: Feb. 24, 2010

• Final paper and registration due: March 10, 2010

Treasury

Balance in BASS account is ...

Balance in Operating Account (annual, October1-Sept 30) is ...

Goals for this coming year:

Need to solicit new Section Campus Representative

Jane LeClair should send an email out to campus representatives asking for volunteers/nominations. The Section Campus Representative should correspond with campus reps so they can share ideas on getting faculty more involved and funnel requests and ideas for programs back to the Section/Conference leadership. Maybe a webinar would work??

Awards

Shane Rogers will work on revitalizing the award nomination process this year. This will include the descriptions, when awards are advertised, and encouraging nominations. Stephanie Farrell asked that we make sure that our Section Outstanding Teaching Award has the same criteria and requirements that the National Teaching Medal has, so that candidates nominated for the Medal (usually past Section Outstanding Teaching Award recipients) don't need to change the format or content of the information they supplied. The information for the St. Lawrence Section Outstanding Teaching Award on the websites (St. Lawrence and National) will need to be updated to reflect the changes.

It was agreed that the previous award recipients would either present a paper or be part of a panel at the next conference. (Most recent recipients Shane Rogers (2009 OTA), Greg Evans (2010 OTA), Joan Dannenhoffer (2010 OEA)).

By-laws

Section by-laws have not been updated since 1982. Joan Dannenhoffer will check with Dwight Wardell to obtain the most recent template and suggested sections that have updated recently. Joan will follow up on this.