American Society for Engineering Education Pacific Southwest Section Executive Board Meeting Minutes April 13, 2001 Cal Poly Pomona, Pomona, California Members Present: Iraj Borbor, DeVry, West Hills Stacey Breitenbach, Cal Poly, San Luis Obispo Jim Burns, San Diego State University Rose Marie Dishman, DeVry Ray Haynes, TRW Jacqueline Hynes, UC Santa Barbara Tom Kanneman, University of San Diego Floyd LeCureux, CSU, Sacramento Lyle McCurdy, Cal Poly Pomona Joe O'Brien, Hewlett-Packard Rich Phillips, Harvey Mudd College Allen Plotkin, San Diego State University Carl Rathmann, Cal Poly Pomona Kuei-wu Tsai, San Jose State University Bill Wells, University of Nevada, Las Vegas Guest: Howard Peavy, University of Idaho I. Welcome and Introductions The meeting was called to order at 7:00 a.m. by Chairman Carl Rathmann. II. Approval of Minutes of April 14, 2000, Meeting The minutes were unanimously approved with no changes. III. Treasurer's Report The Treasurer's Report, as submitted by Allen Plotkin, was unanimously approved. See Attachment A. IV. Discussion Items A. Joint Meetings with the Engineering Liaison Council There was considerable discussion regarding joint meetings of the PSW/ASEE and ELC. Chairman Rathmann explained that the format for the joint meeting at Cal Poly Pomona was an experiment. Members voiced concerns about missing important meetings because sessions were held concurrently. It was felt that the California Community College representatives preferred that ELC and PSW/ASEE meet separately. There appeared to be no support for concurrent joint meetings. The general consensus of the group was that meetings should be totally separate or if held jointly should be sequential. B. Spring 2002 Conference The Spring 2002 Conference will be held at California State University, Fresno. C. Institutional Member Dues Each Section now has the option of requesting a \$50 optional contribution on the billing statement which is sent annually to the institutions in its Section. Any contributions received will be transferred to the Section's BASS account. This item was briefly discussed; no action was taken. D. Section Support for ASEE Issues 1. National/Sectional Teaching Awards Each Section is being asked to contribute \$2000 over one to two years in support of Teaching Awards. In discussion, it was pointed out that we have problems obtaining nominations for our Section Teaching Awards and that we have taken all possible steps to reduce costs involved with publicizing and giving our Sectional awards. The Northwest Section is planning to seek donations from industry to make their contribution. Treasurer Allen Plotkin reminded the Board that at the present time the budget cannot support such a contribution. It was moved and seconded that the Section proceed with a plan to give \$2000 for the National Teaching Awards. With only one affirmative vote, the motion was defeated. 2. Best Paper at Annual Conference The chairman proposed that the Program Committee for the spring 2001 PSW Section meeting select the best paper at this meeting and forward it to National. There was no vote on this matter, but the general consensus of the group was that this would be acceptable. 3. Direction for PSW/ASEE The Board members continued their on-going discussion of how to make the PSW Section a more attractive and effective organization. Suggestions included: greater emphasis at meetings on teaching styles and teaching issues and on undergraduate research; promoting section involvement at national ASEE Deans' meetings; encouraging more faculty to present papers. It was pointed out that research faculty have their primary allegiance to their professional organizations rather than to ASEE. It was also suggested that unless sections can become more vibrant, we should just switch to a national format. 4. Geographic Sections There was a brief discussion regarding disparities in number of schools (and states) included in the various Sections. 5. Electronic Election of Officers Carl Rathmann and Floyd LeCureux will circulate the election ballot electronically. 6. ASEE National Conference, June 24-27, Albuquerque Seven members from the PSW Section will attend. V. Zone IV Chair's Report No report. VI. Discussion of Reports (previously e-mailed) The only reports submitted were the Treasurer's report and Stacey Breitenbach's Faculty Awards Report (see Attachment B). Sima Parisay, Cal Poly Pomona, has been selected as the Outstanding Campus Representative for the PSW Section. VII. Executive Board Vacancies Chairman Rathmann circulated a list of nominees for Executive Board positions open for 2001-2002 and asked for suggestions to fill the remaining vacancies. VIII. Old Business A. Funding for Community College Educator Award. Boeing Corporation, Seattle, has agreed to give \$1000 per year for this award beginning in 2001 and continuing through 2005. B. Student Awards No student awards will be given this year. In discussion of this matter, it was agreed that the awards should be reinstated, that they should be design-focused (not awards for papers), and should be open to students at all undergraduate levels, thus opening the competition to community college students as well as those in four-year schools. A motion was made and seconded to reinstate the student design awards; to give two awards annually to students at any level, one to a lower division student, one to an upper division student; that there must be at least two nominations; with the understanding that the awards will be given only if funding is obtained. The motion was amended to state that giving the awards would be subject to annual approval at the Executive Board meeting. The amended motion was approved. In subsequent discussion, it was made clear that an award could be made to an individual or a team, that the students need not be ASEE members, and that the competition would be open to engineering, engineering technology, and computer science students. Rich Phillips said he would work with Chandra (Brahma?) to raise funds for these awards. IX. New Business There was no new business. X. Passing the Gavel Chairman Rathmann presented the gavel and the box which bears the names of all past Section chairs to Joe O'Brien. XI. Adjournment A motion was made, seconded, and approved to adjourn the meeting. The meeting concluded at 8:35 a.m. Respectfully submitted, Jacqueline A. Hynes Executive Secretary