Liberal Education/Engineering and Society Division of ASEE Business Meeting Agenda June 25, 2020 2-3 p.m.

- I. Welcome and Introductions (10 minutes maximum) (1 slide)
 - a. Begin with officers and set example of brevity ("Kay Neeley, University of Virginia, LEES Division Chair")
 - b. Will need a plan for streamlining this further if there are more people than usual at the meeting
- II. Comments on and Questions Related to Consent Agenda¹ (15 minutes; 2 minutes max. per officer; ask attendees to submit comments and questions through chat; defer discussion until the last item on our agenda, "New Business/On the Horizon") (1 slide)

Division Chair: Kay Neeley (University of Virginia)

- Working group to update the LEES bylaws
- Strategic Planning and Mentorship Thought Collective

Chair-Elect: Amy Slaton (Drexel)
Program Chair: Justin Hess (Purdue)

Program Chair-Elect: Juan Lucena (Colorado School of Mines)

Secretary-Treasurer: Judith Norbach (Georgia Tech)

Newsletter Editor-Webmaster: Sean Ferguson (University of Virginia)

Representative to CDEI: Donna Riley (Purdue)

- III. PIC Chair Report: P.K. Imbrie (10 minutes)
- IV. Proposed Slate of Officers for 2020-2021² (5 minutes; approve by acclamation-how?) (1 slide)

Chair: Amy Slaton (Drexel)
Chair-Elect: Justin Hess (Purdue)

Program Chair: Juan Lucena (Colorado School of Mines)

<u>Program Chair-Elect: Ayush Gupta</u> (University of Maryland)

I am interested in supporting the LEES division in expanding the methodologies for inquiry into the ideologies that constrain engineering (and varieties of academic institutions, more broadly), and in supporting the LEES community in making cultural change in engineering education & institutions towards novel visions of justice-infused liberal education.

Secretary-Treasurer: Judith Norback³

Newsletter Editor-Webmaster: Sean Ferguson⁴

Immediate Past Chair: Kay Neeley

¹ Officer reports circulated in advance and at the end of this agenda; comments for emphasis during the meeting and opportunities for questions submitted through the chat function of Zoom.

² All appointed for one year unless noted otherwise; we usually approve by acclamation.

³ Elected last year for a two-year term; we will be seeking nominations next year.

⁴ Willing to continue for 2020-2021 but also open to mentoring a successor in the meantime.

- V. Presentation of Awards (Amy Slaton) (10 minutes) (slides?)
- VI. Opportunities for Getting More Involved in LEES (1 slide) (should have 10 minutes left for these last two items; if no time, we can just post slides)
- VII. New Business/On the Horizon (1 slide)