ASEE Industrial Engineering Division Business Meeting

Wednesday, June 25, 2008 Pittsburgh, PA Prepared by Judith Norback

Call to Order—David Elizandro

David Elizandro called the meeting to order at 12:40 pm and welcomed everyone to the IED business meeting.

Introductions—

David asked those attending to introduce themselves, giving their name and organizational affiliation. The following members were present:

Name	Institution	Email address
John Ballard	UNL	jballard2@unl.edu
David Elizandro	Tennessee Tech University	delizandro@tntech.edu
Jane Fraser	Colorado State U—Pueblo	jane.fraser@colostate- pueblo.edu
Terri Lynch-Caris	Kettering University	tlynch@kettering.edu
Jessica Matson	Tennessee Tech University	jmatson@tntech.edu
Don Merino	Stevens Institute of Tech.	dmerino@stevens.edu
Judith Norback	Georgia Tech	jnorback@isye.gatech.edu
William R. Peterson	ASU	drbillpeterson@aim.com
Al Soyster	NSF	asoyster@nsf.edu
Lawrence Whitman	Wichita State	larry.whitman@wichita.edu

Approval of 2007 Minutes

The 2007 minutes were approved.

PIC I Chair—Jessica Matson

Jessica is our PIC I chair, and she described the following issues and information:

1) It has been suggested that ASEE include a roster of "Best Papers" on the website.

- 2) Other divisions have asked that the registration fee be waived for program chairs.
- 3) Other suggestions include the following:
 - a. Program chairs need access to author emails, through SmoothPaper, after the papers are submitted.
 - b. Division chairs have the same access to papers as program chairs.

c. ASEE will be asked to implement a shorter time to review abstracts, since now two months is allowed to review abstracts while only two weeks is allowed to review papers.

Next year all Divisions will require publication to present.

- 4) For ASEE 2008, 1440 papers were accepted out of 1684 submitted.
- 5) ASEE current has 10,000 professional members and 13,800 total active members.
- 6) The ASEE 2008 registration surpassed the ASEE 2007 registration.

Jessica asked if there were other ideas to go to the Board. None was suggested.

Program Chair Report—Terri Lynch-Caris

Terri Lynch-Caris reported that 25 abstracts were submitted this year; all were reviewed and accepted. Twelve papers were submitted and reviewed, and eight papers were published.

Discussion centered on how we could determine who was attending of the 269 IE members so we could encourage others, or those already attending, to submit papers. It was decided that the Program Chair for next year, Bill Peterson, will email authors with dates regarding submitting the paper and paying the \$75 copyright fee. Another suggestion was made about having some initiative reaching out to other industrial engineering faculty on our membership list: Maybe we should have invited sessions. Could we work together with IIE or maybe IERC (16 educational papers were presented this year, with Kim Needy being chair of the educational piece.)

Attendees discussed how to encourage higher attendance to the Division Business meeting. Ticketing discourages people, and the Wednesday time also discourages people. The decision was made to have a brown bag lunch open to everyone next year.

Treasurer's Report—Bill Peterson

Bill reported we have \$16,950 in the Bass account and \$380 in the operating account.

Old Business

Awards—

John Ballard worked with Jessica Matson on awards but was unable to attend the business meeting.

<u>Best Paper Award</u>: This award is not monetary and was not awarded for 2006 and 2007. A decision was made not to return to these years and give an award. Instead an award was given for 2008 and will continue to be given for every year in the future. A decision was made to change the Best Paper Award to make it monetary, hopefully by next year. The Best Paper Award for 2008 went to Dale Masel and Arun Nambiar, for their paper on "Teaching Concepts Of Lean Manufacturing Through A Hands-On Laboratory Course." The award plaque was given to Dale Masel at the dinner meeting on Tuesday evening of the 2008 conference.

New Awards

The following was approved in the meeting:

- The Distinguished Service Award
- The Lifetime Achievement Award (This award will reflect contribution as an IE educator. An honorarium of \$500 will be considered.)
- The Best Paper Award (This will include a \$250 honorarium for all the authors of the winning paper.)
- The New IE Educator Award will be maintained at \$250 per author up to two authors.

Bylaw Changes

David noted the bylaws need to be revised every 10 years. He suggested having a subcommittee look at the bylaws and update them by the next Business Meeting. David was nominated to head the committee.

Website

ASEE now has a site for each Division, and Lawrence Whitman will take care of sending in our Division's information.

New Business

Installation of New Officers-

The following officer	s were installed for 2008-2009:
Division Chair:	Terri Lynch-Caris
Program Chair:	Bill Peterson
Program Chair-Elect: Lawrence Whitman	
Secretary/Treasurer:	a nomination was made for Abhijit Gosavi by Jane Fraser. This
was followed up after the meeting.	
Awards Chair:	David Elizandro
Newsletter Editor:	Judith Norback
Web Editor:	Lawrence Whitman

Goals for the Upcoming Year-

David thanked Terri for her work as Program Chair and turned the meeting over to her. Terri described these goals for this next year:

- Updating the bylaws
- Having the new awards in place
- Making a connection with IERC
- Establishing better communication with Systems Engineering Division, Engineering Management Division, and Engineering Economy Division

Terri will also follow up on getting access to listserve for the Newsletter Editor, the Program Chair and the Division Chair.

Terri adjourned the meeting at 2 pm. ---end of 2008 meeting minutes---