2023 ASEE Annual Conference Education Research & Methods Division Topical Plenary



Leveraging Your Agency to Promote Diversity, Equity, & Inclusion (DEI) in the Engineering Education Ecosystem

Dr. Tershia A. Pinder-Grover

University of Michigan

Wednesday, June 28, 2023 8:00 – 9:00 am Room 307, Baltimore Convention Center

About Dr. Tershia A. Pinder-Grover

Dr. Tershia Pinder-Grover earned a B.S. degree in Fire Protection Engineering from the University of Maryland in 1999, and M.S. and Ph.D. degrees in Mechanical Engineering from the University of Michigan in 2002 and 2006, respectively. She joined CRLT in August 2005 and became the director of CRLT-Engin in 2016. In this role, she leads a team focused on advancing engineering education in the College of Engineering (CoE) through innovative programming, strategic partnerships, and cultivating individual relationships. In collaboration with the Associate Deans in the CoE, she provides leadership on educational priorities, especially as it relates to Diversity, Equity and Inclusion. She also works closely with department chairs to create customized programming to meet the needs of their faculty. Her current research interests focus on the adoption of inclusive teaching practices for engineering instructors.

Session Description

This session will discuss ways to leverage an agency to promote diversity, equity, and inclusion (DEI) in the engineering education ecosystem more effectively.

Past Distinguished Lecturers in the **Education Research & Methods Division**

Since 1980, the Educational Research & Methods Division of ASEE has sponsored the ERM Distinguished Lecture at the ASEE Annual Conference. The lecture provides an opportunity to hear thought-provoking new ideas by notable speakers, often from outside the engineering education community.

1980 – Burrhus F. Skinner

1981 – Robert F. Mager

1982 – Wilbert J. McKeachie

1983 – Samuel N. Postlewait

1985 - Fred F. Keller

1986 - Moshe F. Rubinstein

1987 – Benjamin S. Bloom

1988 - Donald A. Schon

1989 – William G. Perry, Jr.

1990 - Frederick Reif

1991 - K. Patricia Cross

1992 – Alan H. Schoenfeld

1993 – Ernest L. Boyer

1994 – Sheila Tobias

1995 – Peter R. Seldin

1996 - Woodie C. Flowers

1997 – David & Robert Johnson

1998 - Thomas Angelo

1999 - Richard M. Felder

2000 – Michelene T.H. Chi

2001 - John D. Bransford

2002 - Sue Rosser

2003 - Elaine Seymour

2004 – James Pellegrino

2005 – Jack Wilson

2006 - Sheri Sheppard

2007 - R. Keith Sawyer

2008 – Lauren Resnick

2009 - James E. Stice

2010 – David H. Jonassen

2011 – David Williamson Shaffer

2012 – Charles Henderson

2013 - Wendy Newstetter

2014 – Peggy McIntosh

2015 – Susan Elrod

2016 – Donna Riley

2017 – James Pellegrino

2019 – Alice Pawley

2020 – Lisa Benson

2021 – Kelly Cross, James Holly, Leroy Long & Ebony McGee

2022 – Stephanie Masta