Minutes

ERM Division Business Meeting

ASEE2003 – 24 June 2003 12:30-2:00 PM

Submitted by Dave Voltmer, ERM Secretary

0. Call to order. Eric Soulsby, incoming ERM chair, opened the meeting (for outgoing chair Dan Moore who could not attend) at 12:30PM. Self-introductions were made. Those in attendance were as follows:

Robin Adams	Univ. Washington	radams@engr.washington.edu
Rajeev Agrawal	Kettering Univ.	ragrawal@kettering.edu
Emily Allen	San Jose State	elallen@email.sjsu.edu
Cindy Atman	Univ. Washington	atman@engr.washington.edu
Steve Beyerlein	Univ. Idaho	sbeyer@uidaho.edu
John Brader	Univ. South Carolina	brader@engr.sc.edu
Shane Brown	Oregon State	browns@onid.orsf.edu
Lisa Bullard	NC State	lisa_bullard@ncsu.edu
Veronica Burrows	Arizona State	burrows@asu.edu
Heather L. Cooper	Purdue	hlcooper@purdue.edu
Sandy Courter	Univ Wisc-Madison	courter@enger.wisc.edu
Dick Culver	Binghamton Univ.	rculver@binghamton.edu
Kay Dee	Tulane	kcdee@tulane.edu
Donald Elger	Univ. Idaho	delger@uidaho.edu
Cindy Finelli	Kettering Univ	cfinelli@kettering.edu
Sherry Frillman	Clemson Univ.	sfrillm@clemson.edu
Tamy Fry	Univ. Oklahoma	tamyfry@ou.edu
Roger Hadgraft	RMIT University	Roger.Hadgraft@RMIT.edu.au
Joe Hughes	Georgia Tech	joe.hughes@ece.gatech.edu
Theresa Jones	UT/Austin	tljones@flash.net
Richard Layton	Rose-Hulman	layton@rose-hulman.edu
Jenni Light	Washington State Univ.	jlight@wsu.edu
Angela Linse	Univ. Washington	linse@engr.washington.edu
Donna Llewellyn	Georgia Tech	donna.llewellyn@cctl.gatech.edu
Susan Lord	Univ. San Diego	slord@sandiego.edu
Heidi Loshbaugh	Colorado Mines	hloshbau@mines.edu
Jim Mayhew	Rose-Hulman	mayhew@rose-hulman.edu
Roy McGrann	Binghamton Univ.	mcgrann@binghamton.edu
George "Lee" Nickles	Georgia Tech	nickle@isye.gatech.edu
Christine Noble	Miami Univ.	noblecd@muohio.edu
Bill Oakes	Purdue	oakes@purdue.edu
Matt Ohland	Clemson	ohland@clemson.edu
Jerry Paskusz	Univ. Houston	paskusz@uh.edu
Amy Pritchett	Georgia Tech	amy.pritchett@isye.gatech.edu
Carla Purdy	Univ. Cincinnati	carla.purdy@uc.edu
Alexander Quinn	Georgia Tech	aquinn@isye.gatech.edu
David Radcliffe	Univ. Queensland	dradcliffe@thiess.com.au
Terri Reed Rhoads	Univ. Oklahoma	teri.rhoads@ou.edu
Larry G. Richards	Univ Virginia	<u>lgr@virginia.edu</u>
Mary Besterfield-Sacre	Univ. Pittsburgh	massacre@engr.pitt.edu

Sean St. Clair sean.stclair@ce.gatech.edu Georgia Tech Doug Schmucker Western Kentucky doug.schmucker@wku.edu Elaine Seat Univ. Tennessee seat@utk.edu tdscott@ou.edu Terri Scott Univ. Oklahoma shattuck@uh.edu Dave Shattuck Univ. Houston shuman@pitt.edu Larry Shuman Univ. Pittsburgh eric.soulsby@ucon.edu Eric Soulsby Univ. Connecticut Jim Stice Univ. Texas stice@mail.utexas.edu Jennifer Turns Univ. Washington jturns@u.washington.edu voltmer@rose-hulman.edu Dave Voltmer Rose-Hulman alisha w@bellsouth.net Alisha Waller Georgia State Mara Wasburn Purdue mwasburn@tech.purdue.edu vokomoto@iupui.edu Charlie Yokomoto **IUPUI**

- 1. Teri Reed Rhoads, Vice-Chair Elect for Programs who will be managing the ASEE 2004 program, reminded all of the need for volunteers to serve as reviewers and moderators. She also invited everyone to Brouhaha and announced the special blue-grass entertainment that was planned. This Spring, P. K. Imbrie was elected to serve as Vice-Chair Elect for Programs and will be managing the ASEE 2005 conference.
- 2. Sandy Courter, Vice-Chair for Programs managing the ASEE 2003 conference, reviewed this year's program. ERM has sponsored 5 workshops and a Distinguished Lecturer as well as numerous technical sessions. Sandy also reminded all that reviewers for abstracts and papers for ASEE 2004 are needed. Workshop proposals are sought as well.
- 3. Eric reminded everyone that P.K. Imbrie served as the ERM Program Co-Chair for the FIE 2002 conference held this past year in Boston. FIE 2003 will be held November 5-9 in Westminster, CO, jointly sponsored with IEEE Education and Computer societies. The ERM Program Co-Chair for FIE 2003 is Cindy Finelli and Alisha Waller will be coordinating the special "interactive session" presentations.
- 4. ERM election results for 2003 were announced. Veronica Burrows and Rich Layton were introduced as the newly elected ERM Directors serving two-year terms. Eric also introduced Emily Allen and Ruth Streveler who will be in their final year of being a Director this coming year. Matt Ohland and P.K. Imbrie were also acknowledged for serving as At-Large Directors for the past year.
- 5. Dick Culver will coordinate the awarding of the re-activated Helen Plants Award. This is to recognize quality presentations in the FIE special sessions, added for FIE 2003 and 2004. For FIE2003, eight (8) special sessions were selected from 23 proposals. After several years in the role, Susan Lord is relinquishing her duties as the ERM representative to the Ben Dasher (best FIE paper) committee. Deborah Follman and Marilyn Dyrud will be co-chairing the Dasher committee for the next year.
- 6. Robin Adams, chair of the Apprentice Faculty Grant program, introduced Sean St. Clair, Lisa Bullard, and John Brader. John Freland was presenting a paper at this time. There are 4 annual AFG awards to graduate students (or non-tenure track faculty). This year there were nearly 40 applications; the competition was very competitive. Robin Adams will continue to Chair the AFG committee for the next year.

- 7. Doug Schmucker, aka "Brochure Boy," distributed brochures for ERM presentations at ASEE 2003. Eric encouraged all to distribute the brochures and thanked Doug for his efforts.
- 8. As part of the required business to be conducted at the meeting, nominations for two members to serve on the Nominating Committee along with the newly appointed Chair, Sandy Courter, were sought. One of those nominated must be an Officer of the Division; while the second needs only to be a member of ERM. Current Officer Emily Allen and Larry Richards were nominated and elected by those present.
- 9. Elections this coming April will include the Vice-Chair for Programs Elect (who will manage the ASEE 2006 conference), two Directors, and the Secretary/Treasurer positions.
- 10. FIE 2003 Boulder Nov 5-9 (stop by booth), 2004 Savannah Oct 20-24 (Joe Hughes general chair special sessions and paper abstracts accepted until Jan 5, 2004)
- 11. RETI's and NETI's Jim Stice provided a brief history of the NETI and a summary of the successful one just concluded. While the coordinator of the RETI activity was still being determined, in the interim contact Eric if you wish to host a RETI on your campus.
- 12. Eric reviewed the Executive Board meeting of Sunday and thanked those who had stepped forward to volunteer their service in the many roles. Eric indicated his belief that the better the information exchange the better the society.
- 13. The next ERM Division Business Meeting will be at ASEE 2004. The meeting adjourned at 1:35PM.

Respectfully submitted, Dave Voltmer, ERM Secretary.