ASEE ECE Division 2017 ASEE Annual Conference Meeting Minutes

Date and Time: June 28, 2017 for 11:30 am to 1:00 pm

Location: Columbus, Ohio

2016-2017 Division Officers and PIC I Chair in Attendance:

Dr. Russ Meier, Chair	Dr. Stuart V
Dr. Sohum Sohoni, Program Chair	Dr. Steve V
Dr. Stephen Williams, Immediate Past Chair	Dr. Agniesz
Members and Guests in Attendance	

Leonard Bohmann	Jen Bonniwell
John Carpinelli	Bill Carroll
Daniel Johnson	Ed Jones
Ed Post	Craig Prather
Hoioman Rashtain	Diane Rover
Dan Stancil	Nicolas Younan
Total Attendance 28	

Dr. Stuart Wentworth, Vice-Chair Dr. Steve Watkins, Secretary-Treasurer Dr. Agnieszka Miguel, PIC I Chair

Joshua CarlAaron CarpenterAnas Salah EddinJeffrey E. FroydShamsur MazumderMani MinaCory PrustNader RaflaSameer SharmaDennis Silage

- Division Chair, Dr. Russ Meier opened the meeting and presented the agenda. Members and guests in attendance introduced themselves.
- Agenda for 2016 meeting was approved unanimously. Moved by Leonard Bohmann, Seconded by Mani Mina.
- 2016 meeting minutes were reviewed and approved unanimously. Moved by Leonard Bohmann, Seconded by Diane Rover.
- The report from the PIC 1 Chair Dr. Agnieszka Miguel was delayed due to her attendance at other division meetings.
- Dr. Ed Jones provided a summary of the ECE Division Awards. He co-chairs the Awards Committee with Dr. Jenna Carpenter. Dr. Russ Meier announced the best paper awards (presentation had been made at the ECE Division Networking Dinner) and presented the individual awards.
 - ECE Best Paper Award to Branimir Pejeinovic and Phillip Wong, "Evolution of an Introductory Electrical Engineering and Programming Course"
 - ECE Best Diversity Paper Award to Adroditi Vennie Filippas and Umit Ozgir, "Capstone Rules of Engagement"
 - ECE Distinguished Educator Award to Dr. Jeffrey E. Froyd.
 - ECE Meritorious Service Award to Dr. Diane Rover.

The Call for Nominations for the 2018 awards has been placed on the division website. Consideration of nominees will begin about 10 June 2018.

- Election of officer (secretary/treasurer)
 - The report from the nominating committee (Ed Jones, Herb Hess, and Hossein Mousavinezhad) presented Issa Batarseh (University of Central Florida) and Nader Rafla (Boise State University) as the candidates for ECE Division Secretary/Treasurer.
 - Further nominations were invited from the floor. Nominations were closed with a unanimous vote following a motion to close nomination by Stephen Williams, second by Mani Mina.
 - Nader Rafla was elected as 2017-18 ECE Division Secretary/Treasurer.
- PIC 1 Chair Dr. Agnieszka Miguel reported from the ASEE PIC meeting. Highlights follow.
 - ASEE finances are improving and new endowment and building funds are planned.
 - Jessalyn Vermillion is the new contact for the ECE Division BASS account.
 - ASEE's 125th celebration is being planned for 2018. Nathan Kahl is the contact.
 - A revised goals statement for ASEE will be sent to members for review and comment.
 - The PIC chairs are working to improve the processes for awards and bylaws approval with in ASEE.
 - Member feedback is requested regarding conference scheduling. (Dr. Meier noted that the new schedule appears to be reducing workshop attendance.)
- Treasurer's report
 - $\circ~$ Dr. Steve Watkins reported the expenses and the income from dues.
 - The ECE Division has 788 members as of 1 June 2017.
 - The division balances have been \$27,411.60 as of 1 October 2015, \$23,706.84 as of 1 October 2016, and \$26,228.34 as of 1 May 2017. The estimated balance after conference expenses is \$20,000.
 - The group consensus was to continue the ECE Division Networking Dinner, but that the executive committee explore cost reductions and/or corporate sponsorship.
- Program Chair's report
 - o Dr. Sohm Sohoni provided a detailed account of this year's technical program
 - The number of submitted abstracts was 136. The number of published papers was 79.
 The division had 13 technical sessions, 1 panel session, and 1 poster session.
 - The group consensus was to continue having at least three reviews per paper, to limit sessions to five papers, and to expand the poster session.
 - The executive committee was given three action items: explore options for an expanded poster session, to explore options for reviewer training, and to post reviewer training materials on the website.
- Membership report by Dr. Russ Meier
 - The total ASEE membership as of 1 June 2017 was 10,692 and the ECE Division membership was 788. The ECE Division has the second largest membership in PIC 1 behind the Mechanical Engineering Division with 816 members. The ECE Division dues will continue at \$5 per year.
 - The life membership option in ASEE was described.
 - The group suggested that ASEE ECE Division membership be promoted at the ECEDHA meeting.
 - Dr. Russ Meier volunteered to coordinate ASEE fellows nominations for the division as part of his Past Chair duties.

- Communications report
 - Dr. Stuart Wentworth reported on the E-mail Division Newsletter. The newsletter will continue for 2017-2018. Please send potential content to Dr. Sohum Sohoni.
 - Dr. Mani Mina discussed opportunities to publish in *The Interface*.
 - A suggestion was made to incorporate the ASEE theme into the 2018 Call for Papers.
 (The new leadership will select the 2017-18 theme soon.) Also, the technical sessions should be given subject names when possible.
 - The group would prefer to have the business meeting before the networking dinner if possible.
- Old business, presided over by Dr. Russ Meier
 - The new ASEE ECE division website is active: <u>https://sites.asee.org/eced/</u>
 - Thanks to Dr. Dennis Silage for his work on the website.
 - Submissions to ASEE
 - Revised division bylaws were submitted in 2017. Approval is pending.
 - Division best paper award descriptions were submitted in 2017. Approval is pending. The awards were presented in 2017.
 - Frederick Emmons Terman award update
 - No nominations were received in 2017-18 and no award was made.
 - The division and the co-sponsor (IEEE Education Society) continue to seek funding options.
- New business, presided over by Dr. Russ Meier
 - Joint Workshops with IEEE Education Society at ASEE and FIE were discussed.
 - Online Webinars and a Laboratory Ideas Repository were discussed.
 - P12 Curriculum Repository was discussed. The Software Engineering Division is a potential collaborator.
- Future ASEE Conferences
 - June 24-27, 2018, Salt Lake City, Utah
 - o June 16-19, 2019, Tampa, Florida
 - June 21-24, 2020, Montreal, Canada
 - o June 27-30, 2021, Long Beach, California
 - o 2022 conference in Minneapolis, MN and 2023 conference in Baltimore, MD
- Other Business
 - Dr. Russ Meier will submit the division reporting form to ASEE.
 - Dr. Nadia Santiago will continue as the division representative on the ASEE Diversity Committee.
 - $\circ~$ Dr. Russ Meier recognized the 2016-17 officer team with certificates.
- Adjournment

Submitted by Steve Watkins, Secretary/Treasurer, 2016-17 3 July 2017