

# **Business Meeting Minutes**

Date: 23 June, 2020

Location: Virtual Conference (Originally scheduled for Montreal, Quebec, Canada)

Attendance: Jessica Kuczenski (Chair), Bob Rhoads (Chair elect), Zahed Siddique (Program Chair), Beshoy Morkos (Program Chair Elect), Beverly Kris Jaeger-Helton (Director), Shraddha Joshi (Director), Shanna Daly (Director), Sindia Rivera-Jimenez (Rep to ASEE Diversity Committee), Kathryn Shroyer (Grad Student Rep), Molly Goldstein (P12 Rep), Austin Talley (Historian), Robert Nagel (Past Chair) + 24 Attendees

- 1. Chair's greeting, call to order
- 2. A vote was conducted to approve 2019 meeting minutes Approved
- 3. 2020 Virtual Conference Updates
  - a. Attendees 3,263
  - b. Papers 1,762 (down 150 from expected) but +8 papers compared to 2019
  - c. Conference will be available to registered attendees for up to a year
- 4. Program Chair's Report Jessica Kuczenski/Zahed Siddique
  - a. Panel 2
  - b. Technical Sessions (5-6 papers each) 12
  - c. Papers Published 66
  - d. Business Meeting 1
  - e. DEED publication numbers up compared to prior year publications.
- 5. Treasurer's Report Bob Rhoads
  - a. FY 2019 Revenue: \$4,021
  - b. FY 2020 YTD Revenue: \$2,604
  - c. Current Balance: \$12,666
  - d. Revenue from dues is down for FY20 (\$1,758) compared to FY19 (\$3,418).
- 6. ASEE Commission on Diversity, Equity and Inclusion Report Sindia Rivera-Page 1 of 4



#### Jimenez

- a. https://diversity.asee.org/deicommitte/
- b. Engaging a Community in Diversity, Advocacy and Inclusive Practices
- c. Several Opportunities and Resources for DEI
- d. <u>Call of Action.</u> Proposed Topic For Discussion: Collaborate with the Commission to create webinars/ workshops/sessions tailored for engineering design classes that discuss DEI within the framework of ethics, teamwork, and innovation. Who wants to help me out to make this possible?
- 7. Division Chair's Report Jessica Kuczenski
  - a. Membership
    - i. 2020 795 members
      - 747 paid status
      - 848 on member roster
    - ii. 2019 757 members
      - 753 paid status
      - 846 on member roster
  - b. Bylaws Updates
    - i. DEI Statement created
    - ii. Bylaws need to be updated every 5 years
    - iii. To do: Best Paper Process
  - c. New Design Challenge competition (replaces essay contest)
    - 2020 ASEE had no entries Design Disruptions
      - What is a potential emerging disruptive change that impacts engineering design?
    - Up to 3 winners from Undergrad, Grad, Practitioner
    - Application Deadline?: March 31<sup>st</sup>
  - d. Partnership with EngineeringUnleashed.com
    - Host Virtual Communities of Practice
    - CardDeck for conference authors to publish work
  - e. Outstanding Service Award
    - No nominees for 2019 or 2020
    - ii. Need to review and discuss how to solicit nominees (DEED news letter)
    - iii. Create historical spreadsheet with past DEED officers
    - iv. Change to "not be a current member of DEED officer"
      - Voted and approved



- f. Best Paper Winner: Eunhye Kim, Senay Purzer, Carolina Vivas-Valencia, Lindsey B. Payne, Nan Kong, "Problem Reframing and Empathy Manifestation in the Innovation Process"
  - i. \$500 award

## 8. PIC Reorganization

- a. DEED will be moved from the PIC II to the PIC V
- b. Maureen Baric will be the new PIC V Chair
- c. All PIC's will have a common by-laws
- d. PIC Council created
  - i. Consists of PIC Chair and Division Chairs within PIC

## 9. Key Votes:

- a. Vote on Minutes: Approval of minutes from June 2019 unanimous.
- b. Vote on Bylaws Update: Approval of diversity update unanimous.

## 10. PIC II Chair Report – Peter Schmidt

- a. PIC Reorganization structure is based on division common synergy and topics
- b. Financial virtual conference transition created over \$700k lost revenue
  - i. Government (PPP) loan to supplement loss which may turn into a grant
- c. PIC II paper total over 250 papers
- d. New PIC V Chair Maureen Baric

#### 11. Election of Officers:

- a. Program Chair Elect
  - i. Corey Schimpf (<u>cscimpf@concord.org</u>) sole nominee, approval unanimous
- b. Open Directors (nominations were held and voting occurred)
  - Kris Jaeger-Helton (<u>bkjaeger@coe.neu.edu</u>)
  - ii. Shraddha Joshi (joshisp@jmu.edu)
  - iii. Rachana Gupta (ragupta@ncsu.edu)
- c. Diversity Representative
  - i. Sindia Rivera-Jimenez (<u>rivera.jimenez@eng.ufl.edu</u>) will continue as representative
- d. DEED Historian



- i. Megan Kenny Feister (<u>megan.kennyfeister@csuci.edu</u>) sole nominee
- e. Grad Student
  - i. Devanshi Shah (<u>Devanshi.Shah@uga.edu</u>) was added
  - ii. Kathryn Shroyer (<a href="mailto:kshroyer@uw.edu">kshroyer@uw.edu</a>) will continue as representative