Chemical Engineering Division of ASEE Business Meeting June 26, 2001

Attendees: Jim Newell, Doug Ludlow, Kirk Schulz, Becky Toghiani, Nada Assaf-Anid, Veronica Burrows, Anneta Razatos, Dave Dixon, Neil Book, Darin Ridgway, Stephanie Farrell, S. Scott Moor, Wallace Whiting, John Sears, Charles Nippert, Anton Pitar, Bob Ybarra, Connie Hollein, Don Visco, Robert Hesketh, Stewart Slater, David Finley, Dick Mead, David Kauffman, Daina Breidis, Bill Krantz, Joe Shaiewitz, Phil Wankat, John O'Connell, Jim Henry, Mike Cutlip, Keith Schimmel, Julio Castaneda, Susan Montgomery, Doug Hirt, Bob Weis, Tom McWilliams, Aleyinka A. Acheyiga

1. Election Results

Stewart Slater - Division Chair Jim Henry - Director

2. Treasurer's Report from Jim Newell

\$39,311.09 in Bass Account \$198.22 in Operating Account

3. Program Chair Report from Daina Breidis and Dave Kauffman

Dave Kauffman indicated all was running well Daina Briedis was seeking moderators for Montreal Call for papers would be placed on Web Page

4. Awards Chair report from Joe Shaiewitz

3M has ended its sponsorship of the Fahien Award after 2001.

Proposed that the Division continue the cash associated with the Fahien award for one year, while a new sponsor is sought

More nominations are needed for all awards (especially CACHE)

Dow Chemical would continue sponsorship of Lectureship award for the present Lifetime achievement award in ChE Pedagogy award was formalized

5. Membership report from Robert Hesketh

Robert Hesketh reported that division membership had fallen to 796 from 817 the previous year. He asked that the Dean's program be better publicized

6. Summer School report from Mike Cutlip

Housing and Local Arrangements were progressing Hopeful of NSF funding Still looking for seed money transfer from division

Meeting Adjourned at 12:24 P.M.