# [bio\_div] ASEE BED: Call for Award Nominations

## Sarah Rooney <sirooney@udel.edu> via asee.org

Fri 1/5/2024 11:57 AM

To:bio\_div@asee.org <bio\_div@asee.org> Cc:Li, Yanfen <Yanfen\_Li@uml.edu>;ASEE BED Awards Chair <asee.bedawards@gmail.com>

**ASEE BED Call for Award Nominations** 

Each year, the Biomedical Engineering Division (BED) of the ASEE grants several awards at the annual ASEE conference, including the Theo C. Pilkington Outstanding Educator Award, the Biomedical Engineering Teaching Award, and the Biomedical Engineering Lifetime Faculty Mentor Award.

#### Theo C. Pilkington Outstanding Educator Award

The Biomedical Engineering Division (BED) of ASEE annually awards The Theo Pilkington Outstanding Educator award. This award is conferred by the division for significant contributions to biomedical engineering education as evidenced by the development of successful undergraduate or graduate level programs, curricula, publications as well as by membership and activities in ASEE/BED and other biomedical engineering organizations. The award consists of a commemorative plaque and a check for \$350\*. This award recognizes the contribution of Theo C. Pilkington as a true pioneer in Biomedical Engineering who contributed significantly to the advancement of Biomedical Engineering Education.

#### **Biomedical Engineering Teaching Award**

This award is conferred by the Biomedical Engineering Division (BED) to recognize contributions in the field of biomedical engineering education by new faculty members as evidenced by innovative teaching materials, curricula, textbooks and/or professional papers and by activity in ASEE/BED and/or other biomedical engineering organizations. Awardees must have a primary educational role in biomedical engineering, either through a dedicated BME/Bioengineering program or through a related engineering program. Faculty members who have no more than 5 years (by June 1 of the year in which the award is given) of teaching experience with primary course responsibility at the university/college or community college level are eligible for this award. The award consists of \$350 and a commemorative plaque\*.

#### **Biomedical Engineering Lifetime Faculty Mentor Award**

The Biomedical Engineering Lifetime Faculty Mentor Award is made to a faculty member in the ASEE Biomedical Engineering Division in recognition of excellence in mentoring other faculty in biomedical engineering education. This award will be given biennially, and is conferred by the division for strong evidence of excellence in mentoring other faculty to advance their careers in engineering education or related fields, as well as for clear evidence of impact on current or former mentees both within and outside the home institution. All BED faculty members that have had active ASEE and BED memberships for 5 of the last 10 years are eligible to receive this award. Minimum activity includes conference attendance and serving as a paper reviewer. This award consists of a commemorative plaque and a check for \$350\*.

*The Awards Committee is soliciting nominations for these three awards*. Note that all award winners are typically required to attend the Awards Banquet held during the ASEE Annual Conference. This year, the 2024 Annual Conference will be held in Portland, Oregon (6/23/24-6/26/24). Before nominating an individual, please ensure that they will be available to attend (more details TBD). For detailed nomination instructions and forms, please visit the following link: <u>https://www.asee.org/membership-and-communities/awards-and-honors/other-divisions#Biomedical\_Engineering\_Division</u> \*Due to the financial situation that ASEE is currently in, award cash prizes and plaques may unfortunately not be offered this year.

### **APPLICATION PROCESS:**

On or before **January 15, 2024:** Signify your intent to nominate by filling out the brief form at this link: <u>https://forms.gle/ZcvED2MBeV32GSbV6</u>

On or before **February 15, 2024**: Submit a complete nomination package (additional information will be sent to nominators). If you have any questions, please contact the BED Awards Chair at <u>asee.bedawards@gmail.com</u> or: Yanfen Li at <u>Yanfen\_Li@uml.edu</u>.

Sarah Ilkhanipour Rooney, PhD (<u>she/her</u>)
Associate Professor
Associate Chair of Undergraduate Studies
Department of Biomedical Engineering
University of Delaware
Office: 102D Spencer Laboratory
Mail: Ammon Pinizzotto Biopharmaceutical Innovation Building, 590 Avenue 1743, 4th Floor, Newark, DE 19713
Advising sign-up <u>link</u>